Costs

Dog and cat boarding in Norway: what does it cost, and what should the agreement say?

Prices from nine boarding kennels and catteries, what the rules require of them, and what to have in writing before you drop off your dog or cat.

9 October 2026 · 8 min read

Made by: Dyrli editorial desk. We show what we checked and when.

A dog and a cat sit side by side by a fenced run and a wooden kennel with an open door and a blanket, with a food bowl, a calendar and an agreement form.

The price per day says little on its own. Boarding facilities count days differently, and what's included in the price varies. Here are prices from nine boarding kennels and catteries, what the rules require of them, and what to have in writing before you drop off your animal.

Short answer

  • Check what the price covers: food, walks, medicines and drop-off outside opening hours.
  • Facilities charge per night, per 24 hours, per day started or per calendar day. Work out the whole stay before you compare.
  • A boarding facility must be notified to the Norwegian Food Safety Authority (Mattilsynet). That is a notification, not an approval.
  • The regulation requires supervision and care at least twice every 24 hours.
  • Vaccination requirements come from the facility itself, not from the regulation. Read the terms well in advance.
  • Get the cancellation terms in writing before you pay.

Prices at nine boarding facilities

The prices are taken from each facility's own website and were read on 9 October 2026. They are examples, not an average. The list is in alphabetical order.

Facility and placeDogCatIncluded and extras
Cozy Hundehotell, SandnesNOK 600, 700, 800 or 950 per day started, by weightNot statedThree walks a day are included. Medicine NOK 50 a day (NOK 100 for more than two doses), sick dog NOK 250 a day, transport to the vet NOK 500 per visit. This is dog sitting in a private home, not a kennel.
Hundegården, FrolandNOK 500 per 24 hours per dogNot statedHalf price for a second dog. Medication by agreement.
Juvika hunde- og kattehotell, TerråkNOK 450 per day startedNOK 350 per day startedPrices apply from 1 June 2026. Food is included. 15 per cent discount from day 8.
Labben Hundehotell, KløftaNOK 550 in low season, NOK 650 in high season, per day startedNot statedFood is included. Medicine NOK 60 a day, dog in heat NOK 100 a day, own pen NOK 100 a day, drop-off outside opening hours NOK 500, New Year's Eve NOK 1,650 per dog. High season is 1 June to 20 August and all school holidays.
Myrbø Butikk & Dyrepensjonat, Arna in BergenNOK 550 from July 2026 (previously NOK 490)NOK 260Medication NOK 30 per 24 hours.
Nordvang Hundepensjonat, LøtenNOK 490 per night, NOK 525 in high seasonNOK 300 per nightNo extra charge for medicines. Drop-off outside opening hours NOK 600, NOK 1,000 on public holidays.
Pusehuset Kattehotell, MalvikNot statedStandard room NOK 280, suite NOK 350, deluxe NOK 580. Extra cat NOK 150.Prices apply to arrivals from 1 November 2026. Food is included. Medication within opening hours is free.
Rekdal hundepensjonat, Møre og RomsdalNOK 350 per day all yearNot statedNot stated.
Sotra kattehotell, ØygardenNot statedNOK 200 per calendar dayYou bring your own food and bowls.

Prices change. Pusehuset has new prices from 1 November 2026, and Juvika shows both old and new prices on its page. Check the price again when you book.

  • Ask about

    What the price is for

    Night, 24 hours, day started or calendar day. The same stay can add up to different totals.

  • Ask about

    What's included

    Food, walks, medicines, and whether it costs more in high season and on public holidays.

  • Ask about

    What costs extra

    Drop-off and pick-up outside opening hours, own pen, dogs in heat and transport to the vet.

What the rules say

A boarding facility must follow the regulation on the trade and temporary keeping of animals. It covers both boarding facilities and day care for animals.

  • Notification: The facility must be notified to Mattilsynet (section 3). That is a notification, not an approval.
  • Supervision: Animals must have supervision and care at least twice every 24 hours (section 10).
  • Sick animals: Sick and injured animals must be treated immediately (section 10). There must be places where sick animals can be kept apart (section 8 h).
  • Space: Each animal must have enough space (section 9).
  • Medicines: Prescription medicines must be kept in a locked cabinet (section 12).
  • Infection: The facility must have measures against infection before it takes in animals whose infection status is unknown (section 14).
  • The owner: The facility must have the owner's name and address (section 5).

Mattilsynet's guide says there is no requirement for formal qualifications to run a boarding facility. Private pet sitting for family and friends is not covered by the regulation.

Vaccines and other requirements

The regulation does not require the animal to be vaccinated. Mattilsynet's guide says a facility's infection routines should typically include, for example, vaccination requirements. Several of the facilities have their own requirements in their terms. Some examples:

  • Labben Hundehotell: requires vaccination against distemper and parvo, among others, and against kennel cough.
  • Juvika hunde- og kattehotell: documentation of, among other things, kennel cough vaccination must be sent in before the stay.
  • Cozy Hundehotell: requires vaccination against distemper, hepatitis, parvovirus and parainfluenza, and strongly recommends a kennel cough vaccine.
  • Pusehuset Kattehotell: requires vaccination against feline panleukopenia and cat flu within the last 12 months, and that cats over 6 months are neutered.

Read the terms well before you travel. If your animal is missing a vaccine the facility requires, talk to your vet early.

What the agreement should say

Ask for the terms in writing before you book. Go through the points below, and ask about anything that isn't covered.

0 of 7 completed

Cancellation

What happens if you cancel or pick up your animal early is set out in the facility's own terms. Get them in writing before you pay a deposit, and keep them.

Work out what the stay costs

Multiply the daily price by the number of days or nights, the way the facility counts. Add what you know comes on top: medicines, high season, public holidays and drop-off outside opening hours. If you have two animals, ask about a discount for the second.

To see boarding alongside your other costs, you'll find a budget calculator in our guides on what a dog costs and what a cat costs.

If your dog is coming with you abroad instead, the requirements are in the guide to travelling abroad with your dog.

Frequently asked questions

How much does dog boarding cost per day?

The facility decides. Read on 9 October 2026, a dog cost for example NOK 500 per 24 hours at Hundegården in Froland and NOK 550 per day started in low season at Labben Hundehotell in Kløfta. Check what's included, and whether the facility charges per night or per day.

How much does a cattery cost?

Read on 9 October 2026, a cat cost for example NOK 200 per calendar day at Sotra kattehotell, where you bring your own food, and NOK 300 per night at Nordvang Hundepensjonat.

Does the facility have to be approved by Mattilsynet?

No. The regulation requires the facility to be notified to Mattilsynet. That is not an approval.

Does my dog or cat have to be vaccinated?

The regulation doesn't require it, but several facilities require it in their terms. Read the terms of the facility you want to use.

How often should someone check on my animal?

The regulation requires supervision and care at least twice every 24 hours.

Can I cancel?

That depends on the facility's terms. Get the cancellation terms in writing before you pay.